Love’s Fortune

L O V E ‘ S    F O R T U N E
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
94     MY ONLY ROSE                                                                                   *****

If God plants the seed,
/     each man reaps what He sows.
In the garden of life,
/     true love is a rose…
And I dream of sharing a kiss
/     in the moon’s cool light,
Of being close to your heart
/     through a starry night.
But I’m keeping it secret
/     though my senses are reeling –
How I hate the frustration
/     of hiding the feeling!
I’d rather shout it out loud
/     till the whole world knows –
In His garden of life
/     you’re my only rose!
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
95     TOOTH DECAY

He was candy in your mouth –
A sweet sensation for a while.
With no daily oral hygiene
You soon lose your bright smile.
Now were life but your teeth
In a figurative way,
Let my presence be the fluoride
That prevents decay.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
96      DREAM BREAKER

If you’d gotten over your former,
/   I could’ve been your latter –
I’d have served you the world
/   on a silver platter.
We were made for each other,
/   but it doesn’t matter…
For your dreams to come true
/   fragile others must shatter.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
97     SPARKS                                                                                  *****

Can’t rightly expect it
/   to burn the same –
I must settle for
/   a lingering ember.
My challenge will be
/   to rekindle the flame
In the ashes
/   of fires remembered.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
98    SWEET RESPITE

Days both hectic and tedious
Find her mostly content,
So she requires no rescue
And such is not her intent.

Yet another world beckons
In dreamy fantasy style.
A sweet respite from reality –
She escapes for a while.

And fortunate is her transport
On those temporal flights;
The brief hiatus can lift them
To unmeasurable heights.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

99     A PRETTY FACE

The pulse rates of men
/    have been made to race
By this natural beauty
/    with God-given grace,
But I’ve seen in her more
/    than a pretty face.

With no shortage of substance
/    nor dearth of style,
She taught daily lessons
/    on the worth of a smile,
Providing an example
/    for the people she reached
By seeking to practice
/    what she preached.

With angelic compassion
/    most Christians don’t feel,
Empathy to her
/    was so clearly real:
If a moment could catch her
/    crying the blues,
Chances were she’d been wearing
/    another’s shoes.

Given modesty rare
/    in those physically blessed,
She was almost shy
/    in the way she dressed.
With her genuine soul
/    aglow in her eyes,
Scheming to attract
/   was like wearing a disguise.

This young girl moves hearts
/    out of time, out of place
With her matchless beauty
/    and elegant grace,
But I’ve seen in her more
/    than a pretty face!
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
100     ULTRAPOEM                                                                               *****

Though Webster tries,
He must realize
That you’re the definition of beauty.
Or if it truly lies
In the beholder’s eyes,
Then the Universe gazes upon you.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
101   MY ULTIMATE

She is my hope, my life, my ultimate truth –
Now sharing with me the sweet touch of her youth.
She’s my present, my future, my ultimate fate,
And for the heaven she’ll bring I can surely wait!
Yet my hell is this temptation to lie and scheme
‘Cause she’s my sun, my stars, my ultimate dream:
Soaring free on her wings through the heavens above,
For she’s my heart, my soul, my ultimate love!
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
102      IMPERATIVE                                                                                               *****

Pursue a wild dream,
/   yours and mine –
Playfully tamper
/   with the hands of time.
Diminish the doubts,
/   delete the fears –
Believe love can add
/   and subtract the years!

Have faith in miracles,
/   it’s never too late.
Challenge convention,
/   join forces with fate.
Turn back the clock
/   or fast-forward the days;
Live boldly our dream
/   in those timeless ways.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
103    STARSHIP VENUS

When we heard of a Starship Venus that made dreams come true,
Hitching our wagon to that star was the thing to do.
While on its delicate wings of passion we sought to fly,
It burned brightly in the crimson of an evening sky.

Finding a twinge of excitement in our gentle kiss,
We rode on a galaxy tour of sweet heavenly bliss.
Giving in to the feeling brought the glow of love’s light
With fiery Starship Venus leading on through the night.

Then at crest of our orbit we remembered the warning,
How love’s brilliance can fade with the coming of morning.
And while the Starship was spinning us ’round and ’round,
Our fragile wings broke off and we floated back down.

With faltering dreams left lonely and naked at dawn,
We lost our path through the sky as our star moved on.
But each evening we’ll remember our love burning bright
When Starship Venus shines forth in the gathering night.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
104    COLOR LOVE BLUE

For one…
Color slips away, a spectral flight –
Murky and dark, black as night.
No promise of dawn nor shining sun –
No hope at all…for one.

But for two…
Strike a match, a flame glows –
Feed the fire, it grows.
A beacon burns, the inferno rages –
Challenge the sun for all the ages!
Color your love, color it blue –
A sky always bright…for two.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
105    ANGELIC EMBRACE

Angel, I do want to thank you for the dance,
For I realize that you took a chance
On a merely mortal man like me.
See, a cool dude I’m not!  Can’t take the heat…
It was all I could do not to step on your feet
As you gracefully followed my awkward lead.
But believe…everyone’s a star every now and then.
A beautiful night highlights a moment when
Heavenly wings embraced this place.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
106    CAPTIVE OF HER SMILE

I’m enraptured by her beauty,
/     I’m enchanted by her style –
But who could blame the lady
/     if I’m a captive of her smile?

She stares at me blankly
/     with next to nothing in her eyes –
But in them I can see
/     full oceans fall and rise.
Stormy hearts can thunder,
/     in the rain she walks away –
Which leaves me with her rainbows
/     to brighten up my day.
She writes the last line
/     before our story can begin –
But hope can write a novel
/     where the good guys always win.
Thus angered by my presence,
/     she slams a final door –
Mistakenly believing
/     she’ll not see me anymore.

For I’m enraptured by her beauty,
/     I’m enchanted by her style –
Yet who could blame the lady
/     if I’m a captive of her smile?
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
107     LOVE’S FORTUNE                                                                          *****

Lowly beginnings; perchance –
/     Two good friends.
Sole determinant:  destiny –
/     How stories end.
Passion plays, scheming –
/     On the shelf.
True love’s fortune
/     always tells itself.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
108     PASSION AND PRIDE

We’re like a ballpark estimate
To your technological precision.
We neither respect nor accept
Your heartless decision.
We were drawn to each other;
For that we’ll not be ashamed.
She saw in me a wild yearning
No one else could have tamed.
Together we stare straight ahead
While you try to make us blink.
You resent our righteous attitude?
Do you even care what we think?
Now you’ve raised your red flags
And stirred up such a fuss
With obvious passion and pride…
Down inside you’re like us!
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

.
109    MISCONCEPTION

Our best friend was the truth –
We never lied.
Still they didn’t understand –
They never tried.

Leave a Reply

