Wuerffel Trophy Watch List

**  The 2016 Wuerffel Trophy watch list was publicized Wednesday, July 13.  There are currently 88 players on the list.  The Wuerffel was named after former Florida quarterback Danny Wuerffel and is awarded annually for outstanding community service along with athletic and academic excellence.

**  Among the nominees this year are the following well-known college football players:
O.J. Howard    –    Alabama
Brad Kaaya    –    Miami (Fla.)
Trevor Knight    –    Texas A&M
Seth Russell    –    Baylor
William Likely    –   Maryland
Samaje Perine    –    Oklahoma
Greg Ward, Jr.    –    Houston
Deshaun Watson    –   Clemson

**  Winners from the past 10 years:
2006   Joel Penton    –    Ohio State
2007   Paul Smith    –    Tulsa
2008   Tim Tebow    –    Florida
2009   Tim Hiller    –   Western Michigan
2010   Sam Acho    –    Texas
2011   Barrett Jones    –    Alabama
2012   Matt Barkley    –    Southern California
2013   Gabe Ikard    –    Oklahoma
2014   Deterrian Shackleford    –    Mississippi
2015   Ty Darlington    –    Oklahoma


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s