Davey O’Brien Award Watch List

**  There are 30 names on the 2016 Davy O’Brien watch list, which was released July 14.  The Davy O’Brien goes to the top quarterback in college football’s FBS, and the correlation to the Heisman Trophy winner is high.  Last year’s winner of the Davy O’Brien, Deshaun Watson of Clemson, is on the list again in 2016; he finished second in the Heisman voting to Derrick Henry of Alabama last year.  Baker Mayfield, a junior at Oklahoma, was also a finalist in 2015.

Here’s the list:
.   Tommy Armstrong, Jr      Nebraska        Sr
.   J.T. Barrett                         Ohio State       Jr         2014 semifinalist
.   C.J. Beathard                       Iowa                Sr
.   Jake Browning                   Washington   So
.   Joshua Dobbs                    Tennessee      Sr         On watch list last two years
.   Dane Evans                        Tulsa               Sr
.   Luke Falk                   Washington State   Jr          2015 semifinalist
.   Quinton Flowers       South Florida          Jr
.    Skyler Howard         West Virginia           Sr
.   Brad Kaaya                Miami (Fla.)             Jr          On watch list last two years
.   Chad Kelly                  Mississippi             Sr
.   DeShone Kizer                   Notre Dame   Jr
.   Taylor Lamb            Appalachian State    Jr
.   Mitch Leidner                     Minnesota     Sr
.   Wes Lunt                             Illinois            Sr
.   Patrick Mahomes II           Texas Tech     Jr           2015 semifinalist
.   Tanner Mangum      Brigham Young       So
.   Baker Mayfield                   Oklahoma     Jr            2015 finalist
.   Nick Mullens      Southern Mississippi   Sr
.   Josh Rosen                           U.C.L.A.        So           2015 semifinalist
.   Mason Rudolph       Oklahoma State      Jr
.   Cooper Rush            Central Michigan    Sr
.   Seth Russell                         Baylor           Sr           2015 semifinalist
.   Brett Rypien                         Boise State  So
.   Anu Solomon                       Arizona         Jr            On watch list last two years
.   Brent Stockstill        Middle Tennessee   So
.   Zach Terrell              Western Michigan   Sr            On watch list last two years
.   Phillip Walker                       Temple         Sr
.   Greg Ward, Jr                        Houston       Sr            2015 semifinalist
.   Deshaun Watson                  Clemson       Jr             2015 winner

**  The Davy O’Brien winner has won the Heisman in 10 of the past 12 years.  Here are the Davy O’Brien winners in the last 10 years:
2006   Troy Smith               Ohio State
2007   Tim Tebow               Florida
2008   Sam Bradford          Oklahoma
2009   Colt McCoy               Texas                (Alabama’s Mark Ingram took the Heisman.)
2010   Cam Newton            Auburn
2011   Robert Griffin III      Baylor
2012   Johnny Manziel        Texas A&M
2013   Jameis Winston        Florida State
2014   Marcus Mariota       Oregon
2015   Deshaun Watson     Clemson            (Alabama’s Derrick Henry claimed the Heisman.)



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s