Rotary Lombardi Award

**  The Rotary Lombardi Award goes to the best lineman or linebacker in college football.  It was first presented in 1970; Ohio State’s Jim Stillwagon won it that year.  Last year’s winner was Carl Nassib of Penn State.

**  Ohio State Buckeyes have won the Lombardi six times  –  the most of any school.  Nebraska Cornhuskers have won five times, as have Notre Dame Fighting Irish.

**  The winners over the past 10 years:
2006   LaMarr Woodley    –    Michigan
2007   Glenn Dorsey    –    Louisiana State
2008   Brian Orakpo    –    Texas
2009   Ndamukong Suh    –    Nebraska
2010   Nick Farley    –    Auburn
2011   Luke Kuechly    –    Boston College
2012   Manti Te’o    –    Notre Dame
2013   Aaron Donald    –   Pittsburgh
2014   Scooby Wright III    –    Arizona
2015   Carl Nassib    –    Penn State        (Not bad for a former walk-on!)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s