Butkus Award

**  The watch list for the 2016 Dick Butkus Award, which goes o the nation’s top linebacker, was released Tuesday, July 12.  Alabama has three players on the list  –  Ryan Anderson, Reuben Foster and Tim Williams.  Houston, Kansas State, Louisville, Ohio State and Penn State have two players each on the list.

**  The only returning Butkus Award finalist from last year is Raekwon McMillan of Ohio State.

**  Two of the last four winners of the Butkus have played at Notre Dame; Alabama has two of the last seven.

**  Here are the winners over the past 10 years:
2006   Patrick Willis    –    Mississippi
2007   James Laurinaitis    –    Ohio State
2008   Aaron Curry    –    Wake Forest
2009   Rolando McClain    –    Alabama
2010   Von Miller    –    Texas A&M
2011   Luke Kuechly    –    Boston College    (Kuechly’s 102 solo tackles are the most of any Butkus
2012   Manti Te’o    –    Notre Dame               winner in the last 10 years.)
2013   C.J. Mosely    –    Alabama
2014   Eric Kendricks    –    U.C.L.A.
2015   Jaylon Smith    –    Notre Dame


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s