Ray Guy Award

**  The watch list for the 2016 Ray Guy Award was released Thursday, July 6.  The Ray Guy has gone to the nation’s top collegiate punter since 2000.

**  Previous finalists Michael Carrizosa of San Diego State and Hayden Hunt of Colorado State made the list.

**  Only three men have won the award twice.  They are Utah’s Tom Hackett in 2014 and 2015, Louisiana Tech’s Ryan Allen in 2011 and 2012, and Baylor’s Daniel Sepulveda in 2004 and 2006.

**  Sepulveda played five years in the NFL for the Pittsburgh Steelers.  Allen has been with the New England Patriots for the past three seasons, during which time he has averaged more than 46 yards on 215 punts.  Curiously, Hackett went undrafted by the NFL this spring; he signed with the New York Jets as a free agent.

**  Apparently kicking in the rarefied air in the West did Hackett no favors, as far as a professional career is concerned.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s