Quotes by Prospects at 2016 NFL Combine

**  “I was drinking a lot of water just so I could add a little weight.  But I didn’t think I’d be that heavy.  I won’t stay at that weight.  It will go off in a day or two.”
.                                                                           – Alabama running back and Heisman Trophy winner
.                                                                             Derrick Henry, after weighing in at 247 pounds.
**  Henry ran for 2,219 yards in 2015 and averaged 5.6 yards per carry for the Tide.

“I  don’t try to fill his shoes or do the things he does.  I’m just focusing on Brandon Shell, and I
have to do what I can do.  He did what he can, but he didn’t want to overstep the boundaries of what I had in college because it was a different scheme.  He was a monster.  He’s a beast.”
.                                                                            -South Carolina tackle Brandon Shell, on what it’s like
.                                                                             to be Art Shell’s nephew.
**  Art Shell was an NFL tackle and coach of the Oakland Raiders.

**  ” I worked in a cell biology lab this past summer, did a stint in an ER for some shadowing.  I just love being able to see the high intensity environment.  Everyone’s working together.  The quarterback is the head doctor.  You have the nurses, kind of the offensive linemen of the thing, doing the dirty work but not getting the credit for it.  But everyone is real locked in and working as a team.  That is something I saw myself doing every day with my teammates on the football field.  The transition from football field to trauma surgeon would be a thing where I wouldn’t have to give up my competitive nature and I’d be able to work as a member of the team and be able to help people out.  I feel that’s something I can truly transition to.”
.                                                                            -Stanford guard Joshua Garnett, who became the
.                                                                             school’s first-ever Outland Trophy winner.
**  The 6’4″, 317-pounder aspires to be a trauma surgeon after his football career ends.

**  “And my smarts.  I don’t think I get a lot of credit for how cerebral I am as a quarterback.”
.                                                                            -Ohio State’s Cardale Jones
**  Jones started at quarterback as the Buckeyes beat Wisconsin in the 2014 Big Ten title game and then took down Alabama and Oregon for the 2014 national championship.

**  “That was the longest I ever made…I’ll never forget it.  Just being able to run off the field with my team at halftime was the best and we got to win (40-24) that game too, so it was all good.”
.                                                                            -U.C.L.A. placekicker Ka’imi Fairbairn, on his 60-yard
.                                                                              field goal against Cal on Thursday, October 22, 2014.
**  Fairbairn became the first FBS kicker to make a 60-yarder since 2012.

**  “It starts with hard work, hard work in the offseason and no shortcuts really.  We were 1-11
(in 2013).  We were terrible.  We had to really start from the floor and build everything up, and we were able to go 8-5 (in 2015) and win a bowl game (Armed Forces over Air Force).  It was tremendous.”
.                                                                             -Quarterback Jared Goff, on turning things around at
.                                                                              California.
**  If Goff goes at #2 to the Cleveland Browns in this year’s draft, he’ll get a chance to turn around one of the most dismal franchises in NFL history.

**  “I think the track record speaks for itself as a winner.  So when I think of a franchise quarterback, not only do I think of the physical ability, but I think of being a winner, winning ball games, taking command, being a leader.”
.                                                                             -Quarterback Carson Wentz of North Dakota State
**  Wentz completed 64.1% of his career passes and went 20-3 as a starter the past two seasons for a team that has won five straight NCAA FCS national championships.

 

Leave a Reply

