Sooners, and Others, Honored

* It was a good day to be a Sooner.

* On Tuesday, December 8 the Broyles Award for the nation’s top assistant coach went to Oklahoma offensive coordinator Lincoln Riley, who becomes its youngest winner.  The Sooners average 45 points and 543 yards per game. They will face top-ranked Clemson in a national
semifinal in the Orange Bowl on December 31.
* Other finalists for the award were Clemson defensive coordinator Brent Venables, Alabama defensive coordinator Kirby Smart, North Carolina defensive coordinator Gene Chizak, and Baylor offensive coordinator Kendal Briles.

* Oklahoma center Ty Darlington picked up two awards Tuesday.  First he was named the winner of the Wuerffel Trophy for athletic performance, community service and academics.  Later, at the National Football Foundation’s annual awards banquet  – a  black tie affair at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel in Manhattan  –  Darlington won the William V. Campbell Trophy as college football’s
scholar-athlete of the year.  He carries a 3.91 GPA as an arts and science major.
* All 12 finalists for the Campbell receive an $18,000 post-graduate scholarship; Darlington gets another $7,000 as the winner.
* Notable finalists included center Jacoby Boren of Ohio State and quarterback Blake Frohnapfel of Massachusetts.
* Supposedly the 12 finalists are selected from all levels of college football.  However, upon inspection, we find that nine are from FBS schools, with one from FCS , one from Division II, and one from Division III.  It seems like just token selections from the lower divisions.

* At the same fancy gathering 15 former players and two coaches were inducted into college football’s Hall of Fame.  One was Oklahoma’s Brian Bosworth, who was an All-American linebacker and two-time Butkus Award winner.  He played from 1984 to 1986 and was part of Oklahoma’s 1985 national championship team.  Bosworth should’ve been a Hall of Famer years ago, but his arrogant, brash and obnoxious “Boz” persona kept him out.  A failed drug test that got him suspended from a bowl game didn’t help either.
* The other 14 men to be inducted, with position, school and playing years…
.     Linebacker Trev Alberts of Nebraska, 1990-1993
.     Linebacker Bob Breunig of Arizona State, 1972-1974
.     Defensive lineman Sean Brewer of Millsaps College (Mississippi), 1989-1992
.     Offensive tackle Ruben Brown of Pittsburgh, 1991-1994
.     Split end Wes Chandler of Florida, 1974-1977
.     Split end Thom Gatewood of Notre Dame, 1969-1971
.     Running back Dick Jauron of Yale, 1970-1972
.     Halfback Clinton Jones of Michigan State, 1964-1966
.     Offensive tackle Lincoln Kennedy of Washington, 1989-1992
.     Quarterback Michael Payton of Marshall, 1989-1992
.     Defensive end Art Still of Kentucky, 1974-1977
.     Linebacker Zach Thomas of Texas Tech, 1992-1995
.     Running back Ricky Williams of Texas, 1995-1998     (Won the 1998 Heisman)
.     Running back Rob Lytle of Michigan, 1974-1976   (Posthumous induction; died of heart attack
.                                                                                           in November of 2010.)
* Coaches inducted:
.     Jim Tressel of Ohio State, whose team won the 2002 national championship.
.    Bill Snyder of Kansas State, who is 76 years old and still at it.  Snyder is completing his 24th
.    season with the Wildcats, averaging just over 8 wins per year.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s